ASB/APPA/TTPA Travelling Fellowship


The ASB/APPA Travelling Fellowship made its first “prestigious awards” in 1966. Since then (with the odd exception) two awards have been made to principals in the Auckland and/or Tai Tokerau area each year.

The awards are supported financially by the ASB and leave on pay is granted by the MOE as one of the prestigious awards. One award is for one term and gives the recipient $20,000 for expenses, the second is for two terms and $35,000 for expenses.


The process for the Awards is administered by the APPA Trust which was set up for this express purpose in 1965. Currently, the secretary for the Trust is Sue Green and the chair is Heath McNeil (APPA member/appointment). The Trust also has representation from APPA, TTPA, NZSTA [Auckland], ASB and the MOE.

Traditionally, the Trust meetings and the interviews for applicants have been hosted by the MOE (through its representative) in the Auckland Office.

The Trust has an “honours board” for recipients which is currently on display at the Kohia Teachers Centre in the “APPA Lounge.”

Recipients of both awards are required to write a report (similar to a research project) and “present” their findings in a range of ways including a presentation to alumni of the fellowship. Copies of the report go to a variety of recipients including university libraries, the MOE, the Minister of Education and other interested parties.


The ASB has traditionally been the funding/business partner with APPA for this award. Recently, the fellowship “funder” role has been subject to a tender process. The ASB has strongly defended its role and won the tender – including requesting an additional clause to give the ASB right of renewal – for a further three years, ensuring the partnership continues.

The ASB has traditionally been one of APPA’s sponsors and this is a valued relationship for both parties. The award is of significant importance and value to both ASB as our business partner and to APPA and Tai Tokerau principals.

Heath McNeil
APPA/ASB/TTPA Travelling Fellowship Chair

The APPA Executive and APPA Trust Board are delighted to announce the successful applicants for the 2020 APPA/ASB/TTPA Travelling Fellowship has been awarded to:

  • One term – Kristen Walsham, principal of Mt Roskill Intermediate, about “The place of Assessment in Trans-Disciplinary local curriculum.”
  • Two terms – Susan Dunlop, principal of Yendarra School, about “Enhancing and Sustaining Tamariki Hauora through Transformational Outdoor Spaces.”

Thanks are conveyed to all applicants and congratulations to Kristen and Susan.

The 2019 APPA/ASB/TTPA Travelling Fellowship were awarded to:

  • One term – Fintan Kelly, principal of Pakuranga Heights School , Auckland about “Coaching, what will work in a NZ Context?”
  • One term – Bastienne Kruger, principal Hukerenui School, Tai Tokerau Principals’ Association about “What does a future learner look like for us and how does digital literacy support this learning? ”

Further Information

Click on any of the documents below to download and view.

Fellowship Reports


  • Fintan Kelly: Coaching to Engage the Community
  • Bastienne Kruger: Authentic Learning – A Way Forward


  • Brenda McPherson: Developing Cultural Confidence to Improve Student Achievement
  • Michael Maher: Sabbatical Report Makerspaces


  • Marilyn Dunn: Effective Communities of Learning that Develop Learning Pathways and Leadership Opportunities
  • Alison Spence: Leading Across Schools


  • Carolyn Marino: Changing teachers mindsets to work collaboratively in Innovative Learning Environments
  • Linda Barton: Bringing Science to Life – Promoting Scientific Thinking in Primary School


  • K McLeay: Principal Appraisal
  • Paul Shepherd: Inclusive Education Global Perspectives – Policy vs Practice


  • Cherie Taylor-Patel: Networking – weaving the net; gather the pearls
  • Sandra Jenkins: Flipping Learning Design


  • Maree Bathurst: The Power of Student Voice
  • Maree Bathurst: Executive Summary
  • Adrian Smith: Catering for the Learning Needs of Gifted and Talented Students in a New Zealand Context


  • David Rogers: The Digital Landscape
  • Luke Sumich: Keeping up with the Jones


  • Marian Caulfield: Sustaining Success as Principals with Long Tenure
  • Corinne Hansell: Raising the Bar for Bilingual Learners